Well I know one of the early mesopotamian inventions was the plow.
Yes, sweet shops existed during the Victorian era. They were called confectionery shops, and they sold a variety of sweets and candies, such as boiled sweets, toffees, and chocolates. These shops were popular, especially among the wealthier classes, as sugar and sweets were considered a luxury at that time.
Gilgamesh of Uruk
Well, Some mesopotamian's had more power's than the others, but no, no one was richer or more poor than the other's
I don't know about US sweets and candy, but according to my Belgian flatmate, British chocolate and candy is far sweeter that that found on the continent. And the British do have a reputation for bad teeth...
It means, "some sweets," or "some candies."
candies, sweets
Bonbon is the French word for Candies ans sweets. There could be gelatin in some of them - the elastic ones.
Some of the most common Christmas-time sweets include candy-canes, gingerbread, marshmallows, and a whole variety of various peppermint-flavored candies.
someone who makes candies and other sweets is called a confectioner. Sometimes confectioners sell sweets too but they may also be purchased form sweet shops and general grocery shops.
Like any sweets or candies, it's best to have them sparingly.
By giving them sweets, candies, pastries, chocolates, etc!
une pâtisserie (fem.) specializes in pastries. Une confiserie (fem.) is specialized in sweets and candies. There are many pâtisseries-confiseries (doing both)
A sweetshop will sell sweets (candies in USA!) and a cake shop will sell cakes. Though, it is more likely that a shop will sell both products. The person selling sweets and cakes could be called a 'Confectioner.'
Yes. Many stores and markets do begin to have many more chocolates and candies and sweets on display to be bought for the holidays.
There are many vegetarian sweets! However, check the ingredients as I have seen candies made with gelatin, which is not vegetarian. White sugar is problematic as much is processed using charred animal bones, which makes it not vegetarian.
Sweets without nuts include hard candies, caramels, chocolate, puddings, many cakes and pies. There are probably more nut free sweets than sweets with nuts. You'll have to check the packaging or the recipe to make sure no nut products are included.